Dg. Buddha Lila Chakma elected as the new Chairman of 10th CADC

Kamalanagar, May 4, 2018: Dg. Buddha Lila Chakma who was elected MDC from 13-Vaseitlang MDC Constituency, in the recently concluded CADC general election, was elected today as the new Chairman of 10th CADC in an election conducted among the 19 newly elected MDCs.

A session of the 10th CADC was summoned today to conduct the election. The Governor appointed Dg. Hiranand Tongchangya, MDC as Protem Chairman to conduct the session for election of the Chairman.
Dg. Buddha Lila Chakma, an INC MDC was the projected candidate of the United Legislature Party (ULP) formed between the MDCs of the INC party and the BJP. The ULP was formed following a hung council caused due to the 10th CADC general election producing a fractured mandate with the MNF party securing 8 seats, the INC 6 seats and the BJP 5 seats.

The MNF party fielded Dg. H. Amaresh Chakma, MDC as their candidate who secured 8 votes against 10 secured by the ULP candidate. The election was conducted by secret ballot.