Governance -> Legislature

Dg. Buddhalila Chakma, MDC elected as new Chairman, CADC

Kamalanagar, 29 December, 2021: Dg. Buddha Lila Chakma, Member of District Council, Chakma Autonomous District Council was today elected as the new Chairman of CADC in a session summoned for the purpose. He was the only Member who has filed nomination for the election notified on 23rd Dec. 2021 and was declared elected uncontested by the Deputy Chairman, Dg. Lakhi Dhan Chakma who presided today’s Session.

The election for the new Chairman has been necessitated following tender of resignation by Dg. Mohan Chakma, MDC from the post on 22nd Nov., 2021.

For Dg. Buddhalila Chakma it is his second stint as Chairman, CADC during this current term of the District Council. Earlier, he has held the post from May, 2018 to January, 2019.

Dg. Buddha Lila Chakma addressing the House upon being elected as Chairman assured to maintain neutrality expected of the office of Chairman while discharging his duty as Chairman.

Notification summoning all Members for election of new Chairman

The Deputy Chairman, Chakma Autonomous District Council is pleased to summon all the Members of the 10th Chakma Autonomous District Council on 28/12/2021 and 29/12/2021 to attend the schedules accordingly and elect the new Chairman of the Chakma Autonomous District Council.

Meeting held to celebrate CADC Golden Jubilee

Kamalanagar, 06 December, 2021: A meeting attended by Member of Chakma District Council, head of departments, CADC and representatives of Central Young Chakma Association, Chakma Mahila Samilti, Mizoram Chakma Student Union, Mizoram Buddhist Association, Chakma District Employee Association, Chakma District Pensioners Association, TARUM was held under the chairmanship of Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, Chief Executive Member, CADC in the conference hall of CADC Rest House, Kamalanagar to discuss the celebration of CADC Golden Jubilee. CADC constituted on 29th April 1972 will complete 50 years on 29th April next year.

The meeting was held on 4th Dec., 2021 and was convened by Legislative Department, CADC.

The meeting constituted a committee for management of celebration of the occasion which has been named as CADC Golden Jubilee Celebration Committee (1972-2022). The Chairman of CADC will be the Chairman of the Committee.

Besides, three sub-committees were formed each for publication of a Souvenir, a photo album and installation of statues.

An advisory committee with Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, CEM, CADC, Dr. B.D. Chakma, MLA, Mizoram, Dg. Nirupam Chakma, former Minister, Mizoram, Dg. Alak Bikash Chakma, former MLA, Mizoram and Dg. H. Amaresh Chakma, EM, CADC as member was also formed.

The Golden Jubilee celebration will be held through the year with the opening and closing ceremony to be organised at Kamalanagar. In between celebration programmes will also be organised at the three sub-headquarters – Borapansury, Longpuighat and Parva.

The Celebration Commitee will chalk out the events to feature the Golden Jubilee Celebration.

Installation of life size statues of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar and pioneers of CADC, planting of 5 Lakhs saplings throughout CADC during the Jubilee year, erection of CADC welcome gates at three entry points, setting up of Chakma model village, etc. were some of the proposals that emerged in the meeting for inclusion to mark the ocassion.

Dg. Lakhi Dhan Chakma, MDC elected as the new Deputy Chairman

Kamalanagar, 16 November, 2021: Dg. Lakhi Dhan Chakma, Member of District Council, Chakma Autonomous District Council was elected today as the new Deputy Chairman in an election held today in the CADC Session Hall. He was the lone contestant to file nomination for the post and was declared elected uncontested.

The post of the Deputy Chairman has been lying vacant since Dg. Anil Kanti Chakma, MDC resigned from the post on 4/10/2021.

Dg. Lakhi Dhan Chakma was elected to the 10th Chakma Autonomous District Council from 14-Longpuighat MDC constituency.

The Chairman before dismissing the Session read out the notification of the Governor dated 1st October 2021 setting aside the order of the Chairman, CADC issued on 20th September, 2021 to disqualify Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, then an MDC, now the Chief Executive Member, CADC for a period of 5 years while expressing deep regret for the action so taken without any merit and offered apology for the unnecessary harm so caused. He has attributed the cause for such an unwarranted move to a situation triggered by the then political crisis.

CADC Monsoon Session 2021 held peacefully

Kamalanagar, 04 October, 2021: The Chakma Autonomous District Council Monsoon Session initially scheduled on 20th August 2021 and later deferred circumstantially was held today peacefully in the backdrop of a political crisis that has been brewing for the last one and half month.

The political crisis has taken a new development with the resignation of Dg. Durjya Dhan Chakma yesterday from the office of Chief Executive Member, CADC. He has been in office for about six months having assumed the office of CEM on 6th April, 2021 after Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma resigned from the post.

With the resignation of Dg. Durjya Dhan Chakma, CEM, CADC the Executive Committee, CADC was rendered dissolved and hence, todays Session was held without transaction of any business in the absence of an Executive Committee. The new development requires that a new Executive Committee is formed at the earliest.

The chairman addressing the Session today informed the members that Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, MDC has been elected yesterday as the new Leader of the CADC MNF Legislature Party.

Rule 22(2) of the CADC (Constitution and Conduct of Business, etc.) Rule, 2002 has it that the leader of the largest legislature party having majority of MDCs shall be appointed as the CEM, CADC.

Notification: CADC Monsoon Session

The Chairman, Chakma Autonomous District Council is pleased to summon the Members of the 10th Chakma Autonomous District Council to sit for the Monsoon Session, 2021 to be commenced from 4th October (Monday), 2021 at 10:30 A.M. in the Session Hall of the Chakma Autonomous District Council, Kamalanagar.

All business, official and non-official admitted earlier shall be taken up without admitting any fresh business thereby.

Chakma Autonomous District Council

Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, MDC, CADC disqualified as Member of District Council

Kamalanagar, 20 September, 2021: Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma, Member of District Council, Chakma Autonomous District Council was disqualified today of his membership as MDC by the Chairman, CADC Dg. Mohan Chakma on charges of having breached the provisions of Rule 12(1)(a) of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Constitution and Conduct of Business, etc.) Rules, 2002 and provision of Rules of Mizoram Salaries, Allowances and Pension of Members of Legislative Assembly Act, 1999.

He has been found to have drawn simultaneously salary as MDC and pension of MLA as well. The matter has been brought to the notice of the Chairman, CADC in the form of complaints by Dg. Onish Moy Chakma, MDC about a year back and recently, by five MDCs; acting upon which the Chairman issued show cause notice to Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma three days back.

The explanation submitted by Dg. Rasik Mohan Chakma have been found to be unsatisfactory and hence, guilty of the charges which prompted the Chairman to take this punitive measure of disqualifying him of his membership as MDC.

All benefits and privileges due to an MDC shall stand withdrawn from him due to the disqualification for a period of five years.