Legislative Department

List of Business for the first monsoon session of CADC


10th September 2018

As provided under Rule 55 (1) of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Constitution, Conduct of Business etc.) Rules, 2002 as amended from time to time, I have the honour to circulate herewith the list of business for the First Sitting of the First Monsoon Session of the 10th Chakma Autonomous District Council, scheduled to be held on 14/09/2018 (Friday) at 10:30 am. in the Session Hall, Chakma Autonomous District Council, Kamalanagar.


Chakma Autonomous District Council


Read Notification

Appointment of Shri Rasik Mohan Chakma as leader of the opposition


3rd September 2018

In exercise of the powers conferred by Sub-Rule (6) and (7) of Rule 22 of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CCB etc.) Rules, 2002 read with para 20 BB of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India, the Governor of Mizoram is pleased to appoint Shri Rasik Mohan Chakma, an elected Member of District Council (MDC) from 1-Borapansury MDC Constitutiency as an Opposition Leader of the 10th CADC w.e.f. 29.8.2018 i.e. the date of approval of the Governor of Mizoram.

By ORDER etc.

Secretary to the Govt. of Mizoram
District Council & Minority Affairs Deptt.


Read Notification

Constitution of Business Advisory Committee


Dated Kamalanagar, the 27th August, 2018

Whereas the tenure of the Business Advisory Committee (BAC) of Chakma Autonomous District Council expired on 19/04/2018 and whereas for the greater interest of Chakma Autonomous District Council, the existence and function of the BAC cannot be ignored in no way.

Now, therefore in exercise of powers conferred under Rule 141(1) of the Chakma Autonomous District Council (Constitution, Conduct of Business etc.) Rules 2002 and as amended from time to time, the Chairman of Chakma Autonomous District Council is pleased to constitute the Business Advisory Committee of Chakma Autonomous District Council, afresh with the following members:

1 Buddha Lila Chakma, Chairman, CADC Chairman
2 Shanti Jiban Chakma, CEM, CADC Member
1 Sanjeev Chakma, EM, CADC Member
1 Kali Kumar Tongchangya, MDC, CADC Member
1 Lakhi Dhan Chakma, MDC, CADC Member

Read Notification

Pranab Kumar Chakma, MDC, CADC dies of cardiac arrest

Pranab Kumar Chakma

Pranab Kumar Chakma

Kamalanagar, July 19, 2018: In a tragic incident, veteran political leader, Dg. Pranab Kumar Chakma, Member of District Council, Chakma Autonomous District Council died of cardiac arrest last night at about 12:15 am. He was 58 years. Family members confirmed that he was all fine and had no health related issues.

He was elected MDC for the fourth time from Ugudasury ‘S’ MDC Constituency in the recently held 10th CADC General Election, sponsored by the MNF party.

Continue reading

Stay order on declaration of Kali Kumar Tongchangya as MDC uncontested vacated and writ petition dismissed; oath administered as MDC

Kamalanagar, June 26, 2018: In a new development Dg. Kali Kumar Tongchangya who was declared MDC uncontested by the Returning Officer of the CADC General Election’ 2018 held in the month of April and subsequently stayed by the Guwahati High Court, Aizawl Bench took oath as MDC today following vacation of its interim order and dismissal of the writ petition against the declaration of the Returning Officer.

Continue reading

CADC Budget 2018-19 passed

Kamalanagar, May 21, 2018: The CADC Budget for the fiscal year 2018-19 for an amount of Rs.86.5916 Crores which was tabled on May 17, was discussed and passed today by 17 Members voting in favour while one Member (of the MNF party) voting against.

Continue reading

10th CADC General Election: no party secured absolute majority

Kamalanagar, April 24, 2018: The 10th CADC General Election held on 20th April 2018 resulted in a hung Council with no single party securing absolute majority. Counting of votes was conducted today. The MNF secured 8 seats, the INC 7 and the BJP 5, out of the 20 seats with election to one being withheld by the Gauhati High Court Aizawl Bench following challenge of the decision of the Returning Officer to declare Kali Kumar Tongchangya, INC candidate of 18-Fultuli constituency winner uncontested. The Returning Officer rejected the nomination of Dg. Samir Tongchangya, MNF candidate of 18-Fultuli on the ground that his seconder was a government servant under CADC. Continue reading

CADC to seek extension of the current term by 5 months and 23 days

Kamalanagar, February 09, 2018: In an emergency Session of CADC held today an official resolution moved by Dg. Amarsmriti Chakma, Executive Member seeking to extend the current term of the 9th District Council by 5 months and 23 days was passed with all the Members present voting in favour of the resolution except Dg. H. Amaresh Chakma, MDC of the opposition MNF party who choose to walk out in protest.

Continue reading

Winter Session of CADC Held

Kamalanagar, December 11, 2017: The Winter Session of CADC was held and concluded today with one sitting. The session may be considered the last session of the 9th CADC given the General Election to 10th CADC due in 3 to 4 months’ time.

Continue reading