Kamalanagar, 29 April:Chakma Autonomous District Council completed 42 years of existence today since it was created in the year 1972 on 29th April. It was formed under the 6th Schedule to the Constitution of India by trifurcating the then Pwi-Lakher Regional Council into Lai Autonomous District Council, Mara Autonomous District Council and Chakma Autonomous District Council. The purpose of creating the Council has been really served, conferring the minority communities safeguard to protect, preserve and promote their cultural identity.

To commemorate the Day, it was ceremonially celebrated at Kamalanagar, the heart of CADC. The celebration began with the hoisting of CADC Flag by the Chairman, CADC Dangu Kali Kumar Tongchangya early in the morning in the premises of CADC Secretariat. The Chairman while remembering all those departed and living leaders who have toiled towards creating the Council said that to live their dreams of a beautiful and prosperous Chakma Land it is important that every one of us embrace those activities that are productive to the society and shed off those which are harming the society. He expressed his concern about our age old practice of Jhum cultivation which has been the principle cause of destruction of our forest cover in CADC which in turn, he said, is contributing to rise in temperature and lack of water sources.

To mark the Day a programme was organized in the Playground of Kamalanagar where the CEM, CADC Dangu Buddha Lila Chakma unfurled the CADC Flag to the chanting of the CADC anthem. In his address to the public he urged every citizen to pledge to make CADC beautiful and prosperous. He said it is by participating in the making of CADC the real tribute is paid to those who have sacrificed their life for our today. He promised to excel his predecessors in giving good governance during his term.

The programme honoured the departed and living leaders who made sacrifices for the attainment of the Chakma Autonomous Council with mementoes received by one of their nearest kin. Atul Chandra Chakma, MRC, Pwi-Lakher Regional Council and first CEM, CADC, Krishto Mohan Chakma, former MLA, Mizoram, Hari Krishto Chakma, former MLA, Mizoram, Medeya Chakma, MDC, Mizo-Lushai Hill Distict Council and Baneshwar Chakma are the leaders honoured on the Day for their contributions.