Election to Village Councils Under Chakma Council, 2015 Held Seccessfully

Kamalanagar, February 26, 2015: Yesterday, 81 village constituencies of Chakma Autonomous District Council went to poll to elect village council members for a term of five years. Of these the Congress won with absolute majority in 62 village councils, the BJP in 7 Village councils, the MNF in 2 village councils and it was a tie in 4 village councils. There are some 28,127 voters all together in all the 81 village constituencies.

Total number of votes polled was 22,153 which 78.23% of the total voters.

The election was contested over 481 seats. The congress fielded candidates in all the 481 seats, the BJP in 201 seats and the MNF in 132 seats. As many as 142 contested as independent candidates. The Congress has won in 358 seats, the BJP in 42 seats, the MNF in 31 seats and 50 seats went to independents candidates.

10 village councils went uncontested with nominations filed only by candidates from the Congress party. Some village councils went uncontested partially with election held either for the general seats or the woman reserved seat only. In all 66 seats went uncontested with only Congress candidates filing nomination.

This General Election had a reserved seat for woman in every village council. This provision was introduced through an amendment effected in the CADC (Election to Village Councils) Rules, 2007. This election has seen some 162 women in the fray.

Election were not notified in the village of Gobasury and Charluitlang whose number of households fell short of 50, minimum for constitution of a village council.