Departments Overview

On the basis of the powers conferred under the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of india, various Departments have been created on the basis of the subjects entrusted with the Council from time to time through various government orders. So far, 33 departments have been created to administer the council. They are:

  1. General Administration and Control Department
  2. Finance and Accounts Department
  3. Land Revenue and Settlement Department
  4. Planning and Development Department
  5. Public Works Department
  6. Local Administration Department
  7. Environment & Forest Department
  8. Legislative Department
  9. Law and Judicial Department
  10. Agriculture Department
  11. Art & Culture Department
  12. Primary School Education Department
  13. Middle School Education Department
  14. District School Education Board
  15. Information & Public Relations Department
  16. Fisheries Department
  17. Industries Department
  18. Social Welfare Department
  19. Road & Transport Department
  20. Sports & Youth Services Department
  21. Rural Development Department
  22. Water Ways Department
  23. Taxation Department
  24. Public Health Engineering Department
  25. Adult Education Department
  26. Cooperation Department
  27. Soil and Water Conservation Department
  28. Sericulture Department
  29. Veterinary & Animal Husbandry Department
  30. Disaster Management, Relief & Rehabilitation Department
  31. Horticulture Department
  32. Minor Irrigation Department
  33. Urban Development & Poverty Alleviation Department

A very recent Government Notification (during 2011) enhanced the powers of the existing Department with inclusion of some new departments like Minor Irrigation Department and Urban Development and poverty Alleviation Department. The order also made reference to withdraw all activities by all concerned departments of the State Government in respect of the functions so entrusted and to retain only some skeleton staff for the purpose of statistical requirements and coordination.

Department-wise staff and projects list.