Charan Singh Chakma, newly elected MDC was sworn-in

Kamalanagar, 11 June, 2019: Dangu Charan Singh Chakma, who has won the bye-election to Ugudasury ā€˜Sā€™ MDC Constituency of Chakma Autonomous District Council held on 6th June, 2019 was sworn-in today in the Session Hall of CADC. The oath was administered by Dangu H. Amaresh Chakma, Chairman, CADC.

The Ugudasury ā€˜Sā€™ MDC seat had fallen vacant following the untimely demise of the incumbent MDC, Dangu Pranab Kumar Chakma who won the seat in the General Election held in April 2018.

The MNF party retained the seat with the win by Dangu Charan Singh Chakma. Dg. Charan Singh Chakma defeated his opponent Dg. Susen Chakma, a veteran politician, fielded by the BJP by a margin of 205 votes. He contested the election by resigning from his government service under CADC.