New MDCs to the 9th CADC Sworn In

Kamalanagar, April 22:A ceremony was arranged today to administer oath to the 20 newly elected Members of District Council in the recently concluded General Election to the 9th Chakma Autonomous District Council. One member remained absent from the ceremony.The oath was administered by the Court President & Recorder, CADC

Dangu Lakkhi Bhusan Chakma in presence of the the SDO (C), Chawngte Pu L. Rinliana.

The General Election to the 9th CADC which concluded on 17th March had its result announced yesterday with 17 candidates winning with party affiliation to Indian National Congress and 3 to Mizo National Front. About as many as 47 candidates have contested for the 20 MDC constituencies with 7 independent candidates in the fray.