Executive Committee of CADC Formed

Kamalanagar, February 12:The Executive Committee of Chakma Autonomous District Council was formed today with the swearing in of five Members of the District Council as Executive Members. There was approval for six. Dangu Dayal Chandra Chakma who is among the six is away on tour to Delhi and therefore could not be sworn in. The other five who were sworn in today by the SDO(Civil), Chawngte are Dangu Amar Smriti Chakma, Dangu Susen Chakma, Dangu Sushil Kumar Chakma, Dangu Mohan Chakma and Dangu Ajoy Kumar Chakma.

The Chief Executive Member was sworn in last month on 22nd. Forming of the Executive Committee got delayed due to a delayed approval from His Excellency the Governor of Mizoram. The approval was issued with effect from 8th February 2014. The approval also states that Executive Member recommended for Dangu Chitra Kumar Chakma, a Member shall only be taken up after the approval of His Excellency the Governor of Mizoram for the creation of one more Executive Member in addition to the existing six.

This is the second Executive Committee of this term. The first one became non-existent with the resignation of the previous CEM, Dangu Dr. Buddha Dhan Chakma who winning a berth under Mizoram Legislative Assembly from Tuichawng Assembly Constituency in the last General Election choose to vacate his Membership from the 9th Chakma Autonomous District Council.